Heading 3

Miami Indie Film Awards

Film Reel

Miami Indie Film Awards is an online film competition. The contest seeks to recognize, promote, and award international and U.S. films of all genres from independent filmmakers. The festival intends to support emerging talented filmmakers by creating an online monthly platform for them to compete, receive recognition and be promoted in the film industry. 

We understand the process of filmmaking and our team consists of film directors, writers, actors, distributors and professionals working in media. We understand the importance of discovering talented indie filmmakers and we seek to create breakthroughs in the career of talented filmmakers.

Films are screened privately to programmers and jury members assigned to each category of the competition. 

download (1).png
It is with great pleasure for Miami Indie Film Awards to announce the winners of the 7th edition.
7th Edition/May, 2022

Best Narrative Feature & Best Producer

8 years

Dir: Jose David Alcázar

Producer: Miguel Ángel Poveda Criado, Carlos Mestanza


Best Narrative Short

Best Director


Dir: Ben McHugh


Best Documentary Feature


Dir: Paul G Roberts


Best Documentary short

Following the Thread

Dir: Kathy Brew


Best First Time Filmmaker

Waking up

Dir: Dion Costelloe


Best Experimental

The Model

Dir: Shira Cohen Elias


Best Animation

The Eye

Dir: John Chang


Best Student Film

Unsaid Words

Dir: Stark Zhao


Best Actress

Eva Habermann



Best Actor

Jeffrey Kelley

For: The Pugilist


Best Indie Film

Best Cinematography

Never Alone

Dirs: paul francis bunch, albert Soratorio

Dop: Brian Nguyen


Best Thriller

There's No Hell Like Home

Dir: Russell Southam


Best Female Filmmaker

On the Road to Dallas

Dir: Mathilde Marinet

Best Composer

Hot Bath An' A Stiff Drink

Music: Geoff Levin


Best Comedy


Dir: Dawn Spinella


Best TV Series/Pilot/Web

Don't care to share

Dir: Dekel Aizen


Best Script


Writers: Krisha Ashu Bhati, Eva Habermann


Best Unproduced script


Writer: Bruce Hickey


Best Trailer

Idling in the Fog